The CCA Study Centre Announces the 2009 Mellon Lecture Series Print
Tuesday, 14 April 2009 00:21

The Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA) announces the 2009 Mellon Lecture Series, which welcomes three renowned figures in architecture and urbanism: Joan Busquets, Mike Davis, and Greg Lynn, all Mellon Senior Fellows. The series starts on Thursday 16 April and continues until autumn. The lectures take place at 6 pm in the CCA’s Paul Desmarais Theatre in Montreal. Admission is free and seating is limited.

The first lecture features Catalan architect Joan Busquets, principal of the BAU B-Arquitectura y Urbanismo agency in Barcelona and Urban Planning and Design Professor at the Harvard Design School. His presentation, entitled Barcelona: Revisiting the "Grids", deals with the revitalisation of the city of Barcelona, a project with which he has long been involved. Busquets sat on the juries of the 2004–2005 James Stirling Memorial Lectures on the City at the CCA and the 2008 Charrette organised by the Table de concertation du centre-ville Ouest for the redevelopment of the Cabot Square area.
[In English, 16 April 2009]

Recently Posted

C.F. Møller Infuses New life in One of Denmark’s oldest schoolC.F. Møller Infuses New life in One of Denmark’s oldest...
The listed Sølvgade School built in 1847, close to King...
Bates Masi + Architects - House in Montauk, New YorkBates Masi + Architects - House in Montauk, New York
The house occupies a hill in Montauk with a distant...
Denton Corker Marshall  - Melbourne Museum Denton Corker Marshall - Melbourne Museum
The building is one of Melbourne’s recent landmarks, completed over...
3XN’s Museum of Liverpool3XN’s Museum of Liverpool
The new Museum of Liverpool that has just opened on...

The second lecturer, Mike Davis of the United States, will speak at the CCA during the summer. An ethnologist, sociologist, and historian, he is internationally known in many research areas, notably the economics of class struggle in Los Angeles, shantytowns, and the militarisation of social life through security measures. Davis is Distinguished Professor of Creative Writing at UC Riverside and a member of the New Left Review editorial committee. Many of his publications have been highly successful and drawn wide media attention, including Buda's Wagon: A Brief History of the Car Bomb (2007) and City of Quartz (1997). He received a MacArthur Fellowship (“Genius Award”) in 1998, and in 2007 won the Lannan Foundation Literary Award (Nonfiction) for Planet of Slums, released in 2005.
[In English, date to be announced]

The autumn lecture is given by Greg Lynn, principal of Greg Lynn FORM, which he founded in California in 1992. Previously, he worked with Peter Eisenman and Antoine Predock. Lynn is Studio Professor in the Department of Architecture and Urban Design at UCLA, and is distinguished by an approach that aims to combine the realities of architectural conception and practice with the experimental, speculative and theoretical possibilities of writing and teaching. He was named one of Time Magazine's "100 Innovators for the Next Century" and won the Golden Lion in the "Best Installation Project" category at the 2008 Venice Biennale in Architecture.
[In English, date to be announced]

The CCA Mellon Foundation Senior Fellowship Program was established in 2001 to encourage advanced research in architectural history and thought. The program is intended for scholars and architects conducting research at a post-doctoral or more advanced level. It aims to support critical work that can bridge the reflective and productive activities in architecture, understood in its broadest sense, and is based on the conviction that scholarly work bears social responsibility. For more information see or call 514 939 7001 x 1408.

Related Articles:

Last Updated on Thursday, 16 April 2009 01:47