AIA Los Angeles Design Awards Open to All Architects Print
Tuesday, 22 January 2008 10:27

Registration Due: March 7, 2008.

LOS ANGELES—The AIA Los Angeles Chapter encourages any architect who has projects in the Los Angeles area to enter the 2008 AIA/LA Design Awards, NEXT LA Awards, and the Cultural Affairs Commission (CAC) Awards.  All entries will be exhibited to the public, and winners will be announced June 26, 2008, at a gala awards ceremony.  “Los Angeles is fortunate to have an amazing diversity of excellent architecture done by both LA-based firms as well as the international array of architects,” says Nicci Solomons, AIA/LA executive director.  “AIA/LA’s awards programs—known as very competitive—celebrate the architecture of today and the future.”

In addition to projects by Los Angeles-based architects, projects that are located in the Los Angeles area but are designed by architects outside of LA are also eligible for the awards.  Added this year are the CAC Design Awards for City projects.  Entrants may use the same board to submit to each program, although there are separate juries.

AIA/LA Design Awards are given for projects completed after January 1, 2006, and will be reviewed by a distinguished jury: Craig Dykers of Snøhetta in Oslo, Norway, and New York City; David Lake, FAIA, of Lake/Flato Architects in Austin, TX; and Enrique Norten, Hon. AIA, of TEN Arquitectos in New York City. 

The NEXT LA Awards honor work that has been commissioned and is well into the design phase or under construction, but has not yet been completely built.  Winning projects will be chosen by a panel of Los Angeles-based design professionals: Paul Danna, AIA, DMJM H&N; Julie Eizenberg, AIA, Koning Eizenberg Architecture; Qingyun Ma, AIA, University of Southern California School of Architecture; Michael Palladino, AIA, Richard Meier & Partners Architects; and Hraztan S. Zeitlian, AIA, Leo A. Daly.

This year, AIA/LA is working with the Cultural Affairs Commission Awards program so that entrants may use the same entry for both programs, so long as the project meets CAC criteria.  The CAC Design Awards jury members are Daniel Dworsky, FAIA; Mehrdad Yazdani, Assoc. AIA, Yazdani Studio at Cannon Design; Lee Ramer, CAC Commissioner; Gayle Roski, CAC Commissioner; Simon Pastucha, Planning Department’s Urban Design Studio.

Registration deadline is March 7, 2008.  Forms are available at  Submissions are due April 25, 2008.  A non-refundable registration fee of $185 (for AIA members) for the first entry into any of the AIA/LA programs and $155 for each additional entry into any of the AIA/LA programs must accompany the entry form. Non-AIA member fees are $255 and $185, respectively.  CAC Awards carry no entry fee.  For more information, contact the AIA Los Angeles Chapter, 3780 Wilshire Blvd., Ste. 800, Los Angeles, CA 90010, tel (213) 639-0777, fax (213) 639-0767,


Related Articles:

Last Updated on Tuesday, 22 January 2008 10:33